First Duckboat - Flat Bottom or V-Hull?

Jeff Obermeier

Hello Everybody, I need some advice. I am a semi-professional woodworker and have toyed with the idea of building a duckboat for years. Now is the time to do it before duck season starts!
I want to build a small boat similar to a 10' Aquapod. It needs to be under 60 lbs so I can put it in the bed of my pickup truck and tow it behind my 14' motorboat to my hunting spot. It will be used to set decoys, retrieve ducks and for layout hunting. I've studied Devlin, CLC, Glen L, and the Kara Hummer designs. Most of the designs have a v-hull constructed of two narrow panels of plywood stitched together in the middle to form a keel. My question is, what are the pros and cons of a v-hull versus a flat bottom design for a small 10' boat with a 30" - 40" beam and a depth of 12" - 13"? The boat would be decked in the front and back and have a large cockpit 72" long.
I'm attaching photos of a flat-bottom kayak and a v-hull construction (both from the Chesapeake Light Craft) as examples. Thanks in advance for your help and advice!

Attachments

• Flat bottom boat.jpeg
    Flat bottom boat.jpeg
    29.6 KB · Views: 5
  • V-hull design.jpeg
    V-hull design.jpeg
    12.9 KB · Views: 5
Welcome aboard Jeff!
I believe a flatbottom boat will normally draw less water than a semi-v of the same size/weight.
But a semi-v may track a little better. Do you plan to pole or paddle?
I've never built a wooden boat but I'm not sure a glass & plywood hull of that size is going to come in under 60#. Whats the boat plan sites say?
Good luck!

Hello Everybody, I need some advice. I am a semi-professional woodworker and have toyed with the idea of building a duckboat for years. Now is the time to do it before duck season starts!