Boat Sale with a Cause

Brad Taylor (NC)

Hey guys...I rarely post and most often just lurk but touched base with Eric via Instagram and he gave me the OK.

Many of you might remember that I teach school but have the side business of Toller Boatworks where I've been building duck boats for almost 2 decades now. Most recently I've been working on an Air Traffic Control for a gentleman out of Yuma, AZ. I had not taken a boat order in 3 years, and had turned down many chances, as my other side business was doing so well. Regardless, when Andy contacted me last September he kind of hit me at the right time as the building bug was there and he was just an overall nice guy. He had admired my boats for years and was semi-retired independent contractor for the military. After several conversations, I relented and said that if we could get the started around my spring break where I could finish in early summer, leaving me time to stock up on cutting boards, I would be willing to build him a boat.

We had stayed in contact throughout and Andy was making plans to make the trip from Arizona to pick up his new ride. About a month ago, he reached out to let me know that he had been diagnosed with some type of long named cancer but was upbeat about it. Said he had been through chemo about 20 years ago and while his current cancer wasn't curable it was treatable. We last spoke on June 22nd and were looking at dates for pick up. His wife called me June 29th to let me know that he had passed away as result of complications with the chemo. I was floored to say the least and couldn't imagine what their family was going through. I told his wife Helen that I would do my best to find a buyer so that she wouldn't have to deal with it even though she offered to pay the remaining balance but said it might be some time before she could arrange pick up.