motor doesn't pee

Dave B

Have a 1970 60 hp evinrude with electronic shift. No water is coming out the pee hole. Took it apart to replace the impeller. Old impeller looks fine. Motor peed water fine until a few weeks ago when it was accidentally run for about 30 secs without a water hook up. I had assumed the impeller got ruined. What else should I check? Please give as much details or places to go for reference as possible as a mechanic I'm not.

Thanks in advance guys.

baumy

Dave,

Did you feel the impeller or just look at it? They can take a set after awhile and get hard and then won't pump. I replace mine every three years whether it needs it or not. You could also try running a wire up the pee tube, sometimes spiders or mud daubers get in there and block the tube. I would suspect the impeller first though since you said it was run without water. Good luck.

Chris

Dave,
First pull the hose off where it goes through the cowl to check the fitting, doesn't take much to plug there. Did the motor get hot? If the impeller was wet it can take a bit of starvation, if it gets dry the arms come off RIGHT NOW.. You could try blowing air backwards through the pee hole (overboard water indicator:^). Gotta get to work now, will keep you in mind and be back later. Good Luck.

What Tom and Chris said. When was the last time you changed the impeller? Does water spray out of the exaust relief ports? If it does the indicator tub is probably plugged.I'd change that impeller anyway, you don't want it coming apart and plugging up the water passages...pain in the ass then!

You may not be supplying enough water.Is it with a hose hookup or summerged in a tub?Make sure it is deep enough,even deeper than you think the shaft should need to be.
You could remove the plate from the thermostat housing to see if/when water is pumping to that point.Should only take a couple seconds.If not shut it down.

Thanks Guys !

Here is the info asked for .